Skip to content

Curb Appeal – What is Your Ideal?

August 9, 2013

tree and skyOne of the basic premises when selling a house is that you will get more money and/or a faster sale if your property has curb appeal. But what does that mean?

In its simplest form, curb appeal means that your house looks inviting from the street.  As with any ideal, how that translates into real life is as individual as each property and each individual.  Your curb appeal can reflect your aesthetic and core beliefs, just as much as the interior of your house will.

Many believe that conservation, using indigenous plants and establishing a rich, healthy environment in your yard, is just as attractive and “saleable” as an acre of lawn – and healthier for the entire community.  Doug Tallamy, a professor of entomology and wildlife ecology at the University of Delaware, makes an argument for using native plants here: http://www.mnn.com/your-home/organic-farming-gardening/stories/forget-what-you-think-you-know-about-curb-appeal

My own Chester County property became a certified “Wildlife Habitat” years ago.  In fact, the Daily Local News came and did a photo essay of my yard in the early 2000’s.  Interestingly, they had heard about it and thought it must be a complete eyesore!  They fully expected that my neighbors must be pretty upset with me for ruining the neighborhood.  They left with a completely different impression!  I have received many compliments on my yard.  And although I live in a large development of one half to three quarter acre lots (certainly not in the country!), I regularly see fox, deer, rabbits, ground hogs, skunks, heron and many song birds in my yard.  I love knowing I am coexisting with and nurturing nature – just as the beauty of the plants and oxygen exchange in the leaves of the trees nurture me.

You can learn more about this National Wildlife Federation program here: http://www.nwf.org/How-to-Help/Garden-for-Wildlife/Certify-Your-Wildlife-Garden.aspx?campaignid=WH09ASLP&s_src=CWH_GoogleMini_certification.

 

How do you manage your land?  What legacy are you leaving?

 

Patty Cunningham, Realtor
Berkshire Hathaway Fox & Roach
O. 484.875.2600
C. 610.659.4669
Lic # RS294054

Comments are closed.

