Skip to content

Decorating with Yellow

February 23, 2013

As I redesign my kitchen, I am tempted to use some more contemporary colors, but I want to avoid anything too trendy.  This arrticle from houzz.com talks about the various aspects of painting with yellow:

 

I am considering a very light, yet soft yellow.  With a granite countertop that is a black/white/yellow mix, white cabinets and a white subway tile backsplash, do you think yellow is a good choice?

Patty Cunningham, Realtor
Coldwell Banker Preferred
O.        610.363.6006
C.        610.659.4669
Lic # RS294054

One Comment
  1. Nancy Glindmyer permalink
    February 23, 2013 3:24 pm

    Yellow is my favorite color. I hate to paint. Even given these two facts, I actually re-painted my office just days after I painted it because I decided I couldn’t live with the yellow I chose. It looked fine on the chip and even better in the can — a soft, buttery yellow. I was a little worried as I applied it because it looked a little brighter than I thought it would but as it dried it became so bright that my worry turned to despair, knowing I would have to re-do everything I had just done. Lesson: pick a yellow at least one shade lighter than you think you want and try it on a small area first!

Comments are closed.

